Art stations fundation - by Grażyna Kulczyk

23.06.2008 - 28.06.2008
Studio Słodownia +3
Pierre Coulibeuf doubling

Video-installations Courtesy Chantal Delanoë/Regards Productions

The following year the core program of dance performances is accompanied by event showing fascination with dance of artists representing other genres. This time we invite the audience to the show of excellent video - installations by French filmmaker and visual artist Pierre Coulibeuf. We will present his four works: The Warriors of Beauty (2002/2006) inspired by Jan Fabre's choreographic and theatrical creations, Somewhere in between (2004/2006) - an experimental film - portrait transposing the research of American choreographer Meg Stuart, The Dark Side (2006) adapted from choreographic proposal of Angelin Preljocaj conceived from the architecture of Rudy Riccotti's Pavillon Noir and latest production - A Magnetic Space (2008) inspired by Lugares Comunes by Canadian choreographer Benoît Lachambre.

Pierre Coulibeuf (born in Elbeuf/France 1949) in a cross-disciplinary relation to film genres, as well as to modes of presenting the image in motion, his works invent a place and a language on the borderline of the other arts, critiquing established forms and questioning representations of reality. Since 1987, he has made films based on the universes of Pierre Klossowski, Michelangelo Pistoletto, Marina Abramovic, Jan Fabre, Meg Stuart. His films have been selected in many international film festivals, were presented in galleries all over the world and became a part of many art collections.

The Warriors of Beauty (2002/2006) The video-installation by Pierre Coulibeuf is drawn from his 35mm feature film Les Guerriers de la beauté, inspired by the world of Jan Fabre. It is composed of two video-projections. A phantasmagoria, film as a labyrinth with multiple entrances, where an unlikely Ariadne in wedding gown ("the demon of passage"?) guides and misleads the viewer in a strange world marked by metamorphosis, multiple personalities, conflicting drives, parody, ritual, surreality...

Actors: Els Deceukelier, William Forsythe, Erna Omarsdottir and Annabelle Chambon, Cédric Charron, Sebastien Cneude, Anny Czupper, Edmond Fabre, Jan Fabre, Emio Greco, Lisbeth Gruwez, Heike Langsdorf, Dirk Roofthooft, Helena Troubleyn, Geert Vaes, Wim Vandekeybus, Marc Vanrunxt, Jurgen Verheyen

Somewhere in between (2004-2006) This video-installation by Pierre Coulibeuf has been made with his 35mm film Somewhere in between, adapted from a special creation by American choreographer Meg Stuart. It is composed of 3 video-projections. The choreographer's imaginations inspired Pierre Coulibeuf to create a discontinuous film tale, like a mental projection.

Actors: Meg Stuart and Michael von der Heide, Christoph Homberger, Christoph Marthaler, Simone Aughterlony, Graham F. Valentine, Thomas Wodianka, Davis Freeman, Antonija Livingstone, Benoît Lachambre, Philippe Beloul, Varinia Canto Vila, François Brice, Lilia Mestre, Ugo Dehaes

The Dark Side (2006) This video-installation by Pierre Coulibeuf has been created starting from his 35mm film Pavillon Noir. It's made of two video-projections. The installation is part of a cross-disciplinary project that, in this case, brings together architecture, choreography, cinema, photography and video-installation.

Actors: Craig Dawson, Sergio Diaz, Céline Galli, Thomas Michaux, Lorena O'Neill, Zaratiana Randrianantenaina, Nagisa Shirai and the participation of Angelin Preljocaj

A Magnetic Space (2008) The video-installation by Pierre Coulibeuf is drawn from his 35mm feature film Magnetic Cinema inspired by Lugares Comunes by Canadian choreographer Benoît Lachambre. The film touches on the sphere of the supernatural. An interplay of multiple energies links the film's characters to the natural elements-air, water, plant and mineral-leading to strange, instinctual body movements. These characters move about in a magnetic space where corporal language takes the place of the verbal.

Actors: Benoît Lachambre, Germana Civera, Hannah Hedman, Saskia Hölbling, Moravia Naranjo, Fabrice Ramalingom, Stephen Thompson